Buckwheat & Coconut Pancakes

I’ve been looking for a filling and healthy pancake recipe for a while which is free from gluten, sugar and dairy. After a bit of research I decided to combine various pancake recipes that I’d found to see if I could create my ultimate healthy pancake. I think I succeeded, and to boot – my 10 month son had a pancake for dinner one night too! Yay!

img_1629

Ingredients
- 400ml / 1 can of Coconut Milk. I use Biona as it is just coconut & water. There are no other additives / nasties in this brand.
- 180 grams of Buckwheat Flour (I recommend the Rude Health brand)
- 75 grams of ground flaxseed*
- 2 tablespoons of coconut oil (there is the option to use olive oil too)
- 2 teaspoons of gluten free baking powder

* The flaxseed mix that I use is mixed with Sunflower and Pumpkin seeds too. I recommend this mix as it adds a nice texture to the pancake. Alternatively if you fancy a more "nutty" consistency you can use 75 grams of plain flaxseed and mix in a couple of tablespoons of pumpkin and sesame seeds when you're cooking the batter.

Recipe
- Put the coconut milk, buckwheat flour, flaxseed (mix), coconut oil and gluten free baking powder into a bowl and mix.
- Leave the batter to rest for 10-15 minutes. This will allow the batter to expand and form into a nice thick mix.
- Heat a frying pan with a little coconut oil and once warm add 2-3 tablespoons of the batter to the pan. At this point you can throw in some nuts / seeds onto the top of the batter.
- Cook gently for 2-3 minutes on one side and then flip the pancake and cook for another 2 minutes until the pancake is cooked through and golden brown on the outside.
- Serve up! I would recommend serving with some freshly cut fruit, honey and a little coconut yoghurt but you can serve it up with anything :)

I use this particular mix of Flaxseed from Linwoods because it is full of fibre, magnesium, img_1631selenium and Vitamin E. Each nutrient is great for a variety of things including aiding digestion, beneficial for healthy nails and teeth, energy metabolism, helping the immune system and acting as an effective antioxidant.
I love the recipe because I’ve used it a couple of times since for a sweet treat or for a savoury meal.ย If you’re looking to have a more savoury meal I recommend spiralising some courgette and/or carrots (or any veg really) into the batter prior to cooking. I use spiralised courgette, carrots, sweet potato and chopped up tomatoes (not all together) in the mixture for my son’s pancakes. He’s not particularly happy to eat veg on it’s own so I like to sneak it in where I can ๐Ÿ™‚

What’s your favourite pancake recipe? And what are your favourite toppings? Be they naughty or nice ๐Ÿ˜‰

I love to hear what other people like so that I can try out alternatives for myself xoxo

 

 

Leave a Reply

