Vegan Shepherd’s Pie

Although living in the UK means it can sometimes be a bit wet and miserable during the winter months; winter is one of my favourite months. I love winter because its the time when you can really enjoy warm and nourishing meals. During the summer months I normally stick to eating lighter and foods which are raw. BUT during Autumn and Winter I love making a casserole or baked dish; a curry or a stew.

img_2346One of the things I have really got into making recently is a veggie / vegan Shepherd’s pie. I took my recipe from The Minimalist Baker’s recipe and tweaked it to ensure it was completely vegan. I would say I’m pretty much a veggie but some days I will do full plant-based days.

Traditional Shepherd’s Pie uses ground beef. For this Shepherd’s Pie I use green lentils as they are full of nutrients including fibre, iron and protein.

Here is my version of the recipe:

Ingredients
Filling:
- 1 medium onion, chopped
- 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
- 1 & 1/2 cups uncooked green lentils - rinse and drain
- 4 cups of vegetable stock - I use Marigold Vegan Bouillon
- 1 tsp dried thyme
- 2 cups frozen peas
- 2 carrots - peeled and chopped
- 1 head broccoli - florets chopped

Mashed Potato:
- 1 kilo potatoes 
- non-dairy milk (I used almond milk)
- salt and peper to taste
Method

Mash topping:
- Peel and slice the potatoes. Bring to a low boil. Cover and cook for
20 - 30 minutes. 
- Once potatoes are cooked; drain and mash them. I add a tablespoon full,
roughly, of milk to make the mash smooth.
- Add salt and pepper, to taste, if required. Set aside.

Filling:
- Whilst the potatoes are cooking, preheat the oven to 200 celsius and
lightly grease an ovenware dish.
- In a large saucepan or pot saute the onions and garlic using either 
olive or coconut oil, for about 5 minutes.
- Add the lentils, stock and thyme. Bring to a low boil and then simmer. 
Continue cooking until the lentils are tender (roughly 35 minutes).
- During the last ten minutes add the vegetables, stir and cover.
- Once the veggies are cooked, transfer them to the oven dish.
- Top the veggies with the mashed potato and smooth down using a spoon 
or fork.
- Place on a baking sheet to catch any overflow. Bake for 10 to 15 
minutes until the potato has crisped / browned on top.
- Let the dish cool before serving. This will also help it thicken.
- If you have any left over, let the dish cool completely and cover. It
can be stored in the fridge for a few days.

img_2346

img_2349img_2351

Enjoy xoxo

Leave a Reply

