Healthy Apple Crumble – yes, it exists!

When it’s winter time there is nothing better than warm comfort food. My favourite type of dessert when its cold and miserable outside is a smoking hot apple crumble. I think when you are careful with your diet you should always allow yourself a treat and so I used a combination of apple crumble recipes, tweaked them and came up with this.

I love being in the kitchen on a cold winters day and cooking up something warm. I especially like this recipe because the smell of apples cooking in cinnamon with a hint of vanilla is just delicious. I am always so excited for the finished crumble so I can tuck in with a cup of tea and get that warm, snuggly feeling you only get from great winter comfort food. My best friend, husband and I made our way through a whole apple crumble pie recently in the space of a few hours. Admittedly it was my friend and I who did the majority of the damage – so be warned – it is moreish!

I really enjoy this particular crumble as I think it’s really versatile. You can make it using apples but I have also mixed pears in before and I think in the summer it will be great with more summery fruits like berries too!

apple-pie

Ingredients:

Filling:

– 6 large apples / 8 medium sized apples (I always rummage around in the fridge and use a variety of apples)

– 1 cup of freshly squeezed orange juice

– 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

– 1/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

Topping:

– 1 & 1/2 cups of gluten free oats

– 1/2 cup of desiccated coconut

– 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon

-3 tablespoons of organic maple syrup

-3 tablespoons of organic cold pressed coconut oil

-1/2 cup of nuts (I like walnuts!)

-1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

Method:

Peel the apples and chop them into fine slices. Pop the apple slices into a pot and add the cup of freshly squeezed oranges, vanilla extract and cinnamon. Cook the apples over a medium heat for 20-30 minutes until they are soft and the majority of the orange juice has evaporated. I would recommend covering the pot whilst cooking the apples, for the most part. It makes the apples much more juicy and soft. You can remove the lid towards the end.

Whilst the apples are cooking you can crack on with the crumble topping. Put the oats, desiccated coconut, maple syrup, coconut oil, nuts, cinnamon and vanilla extract into a food processor. I use my Nutribullet as it mixes the topping ingredients into a great consistency. Run the mixer until the topping has reached a nice and crumbly consistency.

Heat your oven up to about 180 degrees centigrade. Grease your pie dish with a little coconut oil and then put the cooked apples in. Sprinkle the crumble on top of the apples. Bake the crumble for about 30 minutes and then serve warm either alone or with something like custard or ice cream.

img_2771

 

 

Enjoy!!! xoxo

Nutritional nugget: Apples are great for a number of reasons. They are really high in both soluble and insoluble fibre. They help to keep your digestive system regular and then pectin found in the fibre also helps keep your blood sugar levels stable so you don’t have the sugar crash after eating them.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Apple Crumble – yes, it exists!

Leave a Reply

