Mango breakfast parfait

If you’re looking for a little sunshine to kick start your day then I couldn’t recommend this breakfast anymore. It is filling, delicious and looks good too. As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago I have been doing a cleanse to help with my hypothyroidism and arthritis (you can read about my cleanse here) and this is one of the recipes that I found in “Eating Clean” by Amie Valpone of The Healthy Apple.

mango-parfait-1

I’ve tweaked the recipe a little from the original and I think it is a pretty versatile dish for breakfast. The base of the recipe is to whizz up some fresh mango with coconut oil in a blender. I think this is a must when you are recreating the recipe as the refrigerated mango with coconut oil is delicious! But, where I think you can change it are the toppings that you add to the mango parfait. Below is my version which I now have at least once a week … the best thing is that my baby boy loves it too so I always make a little extra of the mango for him. I add the mango parfait to coconut yoghurt or his porridge in the morning and he inhales it!

Ingredients

This recipe makes for one portion – so if you are making for more people adjust accordingly.

– 1/2 ripe mango

– 1 tablespoon melted coconut oil

– 1/4 cup gluten free oats

– 1/4 cup coconut flakes

– a handful of nuts and seeds – I like almonds and pumpkin seeds the best

– 1 orange

Method:

Pop the mango and coconut oil into a blender and puree. I use my NutriBullet and it makes for a smoothie like consistency. Put the pureed mixture into a bowl and leave it in the fridge to cool for 30 minutes. If you’re in a rush you can pop it into the freezer for between 10-15 minutes instead.

Whilst the mango parfait is chilling heat the oven to 160 degrees celsius. In an ovenproof dish mix the oat, coconut flakes, nuts and seeds. Pop them into the heated oven and leave to cook for ten minutes. The coconut flakes should turn a light brown when they are finished and be nice and crispy.

Peel, deseed and segment the orange. Once the mango parfait is ready top it with the oranges and then sprinkle the oat mix on top. Et voila – a simple but nutritious and delicious breakfast ready to serve.

mango-parfait

As I mentioned before the recipe is really versatile; you don’t necessarily need to use the topping that I made. You can try chopped walnuts, pistachios or even a handful of berries.

I love this recipe as its a little different to a traditional breakfast. It’s tasty, easy to make and it is great to serve when you have guests over for brunch. I recently made it for a friend of mine and my Mom and it went down a treat.

img_3789

fullsizerender

img_3795

Nutritional Nugget: Mangoes have loads of health benefits. They are high in both Vitamin A and C which make them which help to support a healthy immune system. Among other things, mangos are great for your digestive system. They are a good source of fibre and also contain an enzyme which breaks down protein. Coconut Oil has so many benefits I don’t even know where to begin. What I recently found out is that full of Medium Chain Fatty Acids (Caprylic, Lauric & Capric Acid) – MCFAs are processed by the liver which means that they are immediately converted into energy rather than stored as fat. The MCFAs in coconut oil also means that it is anti-microbial and anti-fungal.

Leave a Reply

