Moroccan Veggie Mix

I really enjoy cooking and making nourishing foods and I’ve found that since being a mama, especially as Phoenix has become so much more mobile, that it’s hard to find time to make delicious dishes and enjoy them. I constantly have one eye on Phoenix and so cooking never really comes into play during the day whilst he’s awake. As a result I try to make larger meals at night and save myself a little bit for the following day so that if I’m rushed or don’t have the time or energy to make something then I know I’ve already solved that problem. One such dish that fits into this category is my Moroccan veggie mix. It’s kind of like ratatouille but with a moroccan spiced dressing. Its delicious, full of goodness, easy to make and perfect to store to use over the course of a couple of days.

img_4288

Ingredients

2 x courgette

1 x white onion

20 x plum tomatoes

2 small sweet potatoes

Olive oil

1 TBSP ground cumin

1 TBSP ground coriander

Juice of 1 lemon

10 dried apricots

10 sundried tomatoes

1 TBSP Harissa paste

1 large clove of garlic

1 chunk of ginger

150ml filtered water

Recipe

Preheat your oven to around 180c. Chop up the courgettes, white onion, plum tomatoes and sweet potatoes. Put your veggies in an ovenware dish and coat in a little olive oil.

To make the sauce mix in the ground cumin, ground coriander, lemon juice, dried apricots, sundried tomatoes, harissa paste, garlic, ginger and filtered water into a mixer. I use my nutribullet which is excellent for this. Whizz the ingredients all together until it forms a paste. Cover the vegetables in the dressing, mix them up again and then pop into the oven covered for about 20-25 minutes. Remove the covering and leave to bake for another 20-25 minutes until the sweet potato is soft. Et voila! I recommend serving with quinoa and a spinach and avocado salad on the side.

As I mentioned before, it’s a perfect dish to keep for the next day. I normally reheat the dish on the stove and add in a little spinach for some extra iron. The photos for this blog are actually taken after doing exactly this.

If anyone has any suggestions on other recipes and dishes that keep well for a few days please send them my way. I’m all ears ๐Ÿ™‚ xoxo

Nutritional nugget: quinoa is a great source of protein for veggies.

Leave a Reply

