Nice Cream

After I’ve had dinner I always crave something a little sweet. My go to is either dark chocolate or, recently, conference pears with almond butter. One thing you’ll learn about me is I have the most random cravings – this week it’s been brussel sprouts and chickpeas; last week it was chocolate and hummus.

Yesterday I made up a batch of banana nice cream to change up my evening treat. It requires 3 ingredients, is super quick and easy to make too. It’s also great as a treat for little kiddies too. My son loves it as an after dinner treat.

FullSizeRender 48

Ingredients

  • 2 large or 3 small bananas
  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons of nut butter – almond is my favourite!

Recipe

Peel the bananas and chop them up into slices. Pop them into the freezer for a few hours. I normally do this the night before or in the morning so they’re ready for when I want to eat the ice cream. Pop them into a blender along with the almond milk and butter and whizz into a smooth consistency. Depending on how you like it, you can either eat as is or freeze again to make it a little harder. Serve with any toppings you like; I particularly like coconut flakes, pumpkin seeds, blueberries and maybe a drizzle of syrup.

Nutritional nugget: Bananas have high levels of tryptophan, which is converted into serotonin; the happy-mood brain neurotransmitter. They act as a prebiotic, stimulating the growth of friendly bacteria in the bowel. Bananas also produce digestive enzymes to assist in absorbing nutrients.

Leave a Reply

